articles | 29 November 2021

Country categories for travel updated

Indonesia is the only country to be moved up to the green category in the reviewed list of categories for travel, to be in effect from Thursday.

Italy, Spain, Portugal, and South Korea have been moved down from the orange to the red category.

According to the latest review, Indonesia, along with the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Bahrain, and Saudi Arabia are in the green category.

Passengers coming from green category countries are not required to present a PCR test or self-isolate upon arrival.

The orange category includes Greece, Malta, Argentina, Australia, Japan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China (incl. Hong Kong and Macau), Colombia, New Zealand, Uruguay, Rwanda, and Chile.

Those arriving from destinations in the orange category need to present a negative PCR test not older than 72 hours prior to departure.

The red category includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czechia, Finland, Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino, Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, USA, UK, Jordan, Belarus, Lebanon, South Korea, Oman, Ukraine, Peru, Russia, and Serbia.

As regards red category countries, all arrivals must present a negative PCR test not older than 72 hours prior to departure and take another PCR test upon arrival in Cyprus. They must also self-isolate until the results of the second test are ready.

Vaccinated passengers or people who have recovered from Covid-19 not more than six months since their travel date, are exempted from presenting a PCR test or self-isolating. They need to present the EU Digital Covid certificate or the EU Digital Covid Recovery certificate.

The health ministry also recalled the ban on the arrival and entry into the Republic of any person who during the last 14 days before their arrival has either resided or passed through the territory of South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Malawi and Botswana. The measure was announced last Friday due to the emergence of a new Covid-19 variant mutation the B.1.1.529, dubbed ‘Omicron’.

This excludes Cypriot citizens and their families, citizens of EU member states, of the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) and Switzerland, and third country nationals residing permanently in the Republic.

These passengers will have to quarantine in a hotel for 10 days at their own expense.

They must also present a negative PCR test not older than 72 hours prior to their departure to Cyprus, even if they are vaccinated. They must also take a PCR test upon arrival with the costs borne by them. Children under 12 do not need to take a PCR test.

On the 10th day they will be given a PCR test, the cost of which will be paid by the Republic, and if it is negative, they will be discharged. If they are found positive, they will remain in quarantine and the health ministry’s relevant protocol will be followed.

Countries not listed in the green, orange, and red categories are considered to be in the grey category where special permission to enter Cyprus is needed.

All passengers need to fill out the CyprusFlightPass within 48 hours before the departure of their flight.

Source: Cyprus Mail

Cooperation Partners
  • Logo for Cyprus Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Logo for Invest Cyprus
  • Logo for Ministry of Energy, Commerce, Industry and Tourism
  • Logo for Association of Cyprus Banks
  • Logo for CYFA Cyprus
  • Logo for Cyprus Investment Funds Association
  • Logo for Cyprus Shipping Chamber
  • Logo for Love Cyprus Deputy Ministry of Tourism
  • Logo for Cyprus International Businesses Association