articles | 26 November 2021

Cyprus bans travellers from eight African countries

Entry from eight African countries has been banned as of Friday after a new coronavirus variant was detected.

The latest decree by the health minister bans the arrival and entry into the Republic of any person who during the last 14 days before their arrival has either resided or passed through the territory of South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Malawi and Botswana.

It said this was due to the epidemiological situation in these countries regarding the new variant B.1.1.529 of Covid-19 and for the protection of public health. This decision was based on recommendations of the European Commission, it said.

This excludes Cypriot citizens and their families, citizens of EU member states, of the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) and Switzerland, and third country nationals residing permanently in the Republic.

These passengers will have to quarantine in a hotel for 10 days at their own expense.

They must also present a negative PCR test not older than 72 hours prior to their departure to Cyprus, even if they are vaccinated. They must also take a PCR test upon arrival with the costs borne by them. Children under 12 do not need to take a PCR test.

On the 10th day they will be given a PCR test, the cost of which will be paid by the Republic, and if it is negative, they will be discharged. If they are found positive, they will remain in quarantine and the health ministry’s relevant protocol will be followed.

Health Minister Michalis Hadjipantelas said earlier in the day there will be stricter checks at the airports on arrivals from countries such as Israel and others where cases of the new variant were detected. Passengers from such countries will be given PCR tests upon arrival, he said.

The health ministry said this variant has not been detected in Cyprus so far.

Based on a thorough genetic analysis of the sequences for October and up to November 11, in Cyprus, only evolutionary subtypes of the Delta variant have been identified, with the AY.43 being the most common (approximately 50 per cent), it added.  “None of these variants appear to show increased transmissibility compared to the classic Delta variant (B.1.617.2),” it said.

The ministry said it was constantly monitoring the developments and data regarding the new variants and if deemed necessary, it will take the appropriate actions.

Source: Cyprus-Mail

Cooperation Partners
  • Logo for Ministry of Energy, Commerce, Industry and Tourism
  • Logo for CYFA Cyprus
  • Logo for Cyprus Investment Funds Association
  • Logo for Cyprus International Businesses Association
  • Logo for Love Cyprus Deputy Ministry of Tourism
  • Logo for Cyprus Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Logo for Invest Cyprus
  • Logo for Cyprus Shipping Chamber
  • Logo for Association of Cyprus Banks