articles | 02 September 2020

Cyprus revises classification of countries for travel

The Cyprus health ministry on Tuesday downgraded Hungary, Slovakia, Slovenia and Lichtenstein to category B in its three-tier risk-based travel classification system, while Rwanda and Monaco were bumped down to category C.

The revised list comes into effect on September 5.

Category A – Low risk

EU member states: Germany, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Finland.

Schengen members: Norway.

Third countries: Georgia, Canada, New Zealand, South Korea, Thailand.

Passengers arriving from Category A countries are not obliged to present a COVID-19 test certificate, nor are they obliged to self-isolate.

Category B – Possible low risk, higher risk than Category A

EU member states: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic.

United Kingdom

Schengen members: Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein.

Small states: Vatican City, San Marino.

Third countries: Uruguay, China, Japan, Australia.

Passengers from Category B countries must have a COVID-19 test certificate, proving they tested negative.

Cypriot citizens residing permanently in Cyprus, their foreign partners and underage children, as well as all legal residents of Cyprus, persons eligible according to the Vienna Convention, and persons whose countries do not provide testing services, can be tested on arrival at their own cost and must remain at home until the results are made available.

Category C – Higher risk compared to Categories A and B

EU member states: Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Malta, The Netherlands.

Small countries: Andorra, Monaco.

Third counties: Algeria, Serbia, Morocco, Montenegro, Rwanda, Tunisia, Russia, Ukraine, Faroe Islands, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Israel, Lebanon, Qatar, Bahrein, Saudi Arabia.

Passengers from Category C countries are obliged to self-isolate for 14 days.

Information and instructions are available at

All passengers, irrespective of the category of country they are travelling from, are obliged to apply for the CyprusFlightPass within 24 hours of their flight’s departure.

Random tests for passengers of selected flight arrivals will be carried out.

Source: Knews


Cooperation Partners
  • Logo for Cyprus International Businesses Association
  • Logo for Cyprus Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Logo for CYFA Cyprus
  • Logo for Love Cyprus Deputy Ministry of Tourism
  • Logo for Invest Cyprus
  • Logo for Cyprus Shipping Chamber
  • Logo for Cyprus Investment Funds Association
  • Logo for Ministry of Energy, Commerce, Industry and Tourism
  • Logo for Association of Cyprus Banks