articles | 28 November 2019 | ServPRO

Cyprus signs double tax treaty with the Netherlands

The Netherlands has finally been added to the long list of countries Cyprus has signed a Double Tax Treaty (DTT) with, as Cyprus has signed a DTT with the Netherlands last week.

A DTT agreement means that, a non-resident individual or company will not be taxed in both countries for the same income.

After an extensive period of negotiations, the agreement was signed at a technocrat-level in The Hague. This DTT agreement is considered especially important, as competition throughout the years in efforts by the two countries to attract investment and provide services to multi-national companies was strong and will continue to be.

Moreover, this agreement is Cyprus’s 66th to come in effect and represents an important milestone on Cyprus’ journey to be recognized as a preferred low-tax international financial centre. Cyprus now has DTTs with all European Union member states except Croatia.

The text of the agreement with The Netherlands has not yet been published but is likely to follow the OECD Model Tax Convention. DTTs safeguard fair taxation practices of both physical persons and legal entities by ensuring that the same income stream is not taxed twice. Additionally, they promote economic cooperation and information exchange between states.

Cyprus’s efforts to expand their DTT network are ongoing and is currently aiming for a taxation avoidance treaty to be signed with Hong Kong, Pakistan, Nigeria and Jordan.

Cooperation Partners
  • Logo for Association of Cyprus Banks
  • Logo for Cyprus Shipping Chamber
  • Logo for Ministry of Energy, Commerce, Industry and Tourism
  • Logo for Invest Cyprus
  • Logo for Cyprus Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Logo for CYFA Cyprus
  • Logo for Love Cyprus Deputy Ministry of Tourism
  • Logo for Cyprus Investment Funds Association
  • Logo for Cyprus International Businesses Association