news | 09 January 2018 | CFA Society Cyprus

Cyprus’ new CFAs receive Charter Award

CFA Society Cyprus officially welcomed its eleven new charterholders at a special ceremony in Nicosia, in the presence of Minister of Transport, Communications and Works, Marios Demetriades. The eleven new charterholders acquired the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation after passing the three levels of professional exams and also completing four-year work experience in the field of financial analysis.

Minister Marios Demetriades, who was one of the first in Cyprus to acquire the CFA designation as well as a founding member of CFA Society Cyprus and its first chairman in 2003, was the event’s official guest. In his speech, Mr Demetriades said the CFA designation is a very important milestone in someone’s professional life, as it combines knowledge with experience which, coupled with effort and hard work, can lead to major achievements. “The CFA designation is very important because it is not just about gaining knowledge; it is also about the ethical values it promotes. You should be proud; it is a big step in your career. When I acquired the CFA designation, there were just three or four of us; today we are 124, so we have come a long way. I am very proud to hold this title. Even as a minister, I use the knowledge I gained as a CFA much more often than you think,” he added.

In turn, CFA Society Cyprus chairman Panayiotis Chrysostomou congratulated the new members, saying the CFA designation would now be added to their name to show that they have acquired a wide range of analytical skills, technical training and the highest professional standards required to provide first-class financial services, with the ultimate goal of serving the best interests of clients and society as a whole. He went on to thank Minister of Transport, Marios Demetriades, one of the first holders of the CFA designation in Cyprus and CFA Society Cyprus’ first ever chairman, for his support towards the Society and its activities.

CFA Society Cyprus’ new members are Aslihan Aksoy, Adamos Anastasiou, Vruyr Gabrielyan, Panayiotis Georgiou, Igor Gorshkov, Marios Koumbaris, Constantinos Kourouyiannis, Anastasia Loizidou, Stylianos Prokopiou, Savvas Rigas and Lyto Maria Savvidou. CFA Society Cyprus congratulates its new members and encourages them to continue to pursue the high level of professionalism and ethical values represented by the CFA Institute.

Cooperation Partners
  • Logo for Cyprus Shipping Chamber
  • Logo for Cyprus International Businesses Association
  • Logo for CYFA Cyprus
  • Logo for Invest Cyprus
  • Logo for Cyprus Investment Funds Association
  • Logo for Cyprus Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Logo for Association of Cyprus Banks
  • Logo for Love Cyprus Deputy Ministry of Tourism
  • Logo for Ministry of Energy, Commerce, Industry and Tourism